My Techie Self: Extracting Subtitles from a MKV


My Techie Self: Extracting Subtitles from a MKV.

Very useful indeed! 😉

Though I must note, that I’m using the *nix version of mkvtoolnix.

Thus my commands would look like:

## e.g. for a file named:
## Matroska.mkv
mkvinfo Matroska.mkv
## As mkvinfo showed tracks #3 and #4,
## wich corresponds with ids 2 and 3.
mkvextract tracks Matroska.mkv 2:Matroska.srt
Screenshot from mkvinfo, running inside a terminal.

Screenshot from mkvinfo, running inside a terminal.

Et voila, now I can use srt files in for example Google Drive! 😉

Now why would I go through all this trouble? Well, I’ve the ‘nasty habit’ to incorporate every file into one container. As it makes for a cleaner filesystem among things. 😉 But there are cases in which it’s needed to show captions, and this post shows how to do so.

Tiny Matroska pinguins

Tiny Matroska pinguins (Photo credit: Act, don’t think)


That’s all folks! 😆

Kindest regards,

Alex

ღ Ƹ̵̡ Ӝ̵̨̄ Ʒ ☆ ˜ ” * ° • . ¸ł¸ . • ° * ” ☆ ★ ☆ ę ˜

♫ d(。◕‿◕。)b ♪♪

Use the contact-form below, for feedback purposes.







Back to top.