“Two nations divided by one common language.”


Or why oh why, do I persist to keep on writing in English!?

As I recently wrote a rather lengthy post on this particular subject in one of the Facebook groups I participate in. I hereby feel the need again to rewrite it here.

I sometimes wonder about how many people who participate on e.g. wordpress.com really do understand, or have a sufficient command of the English language? Which would enable them to fully enjoy every perk WP has to offer them? Or on a larger scale with the Internet world around them?

I know from personal experience, how hard it can be to keep up with all the other participants of say a forum. Especially when that {blog,group,forum} you participate in, utilizes a lingua franca (What American English is for the Internet). A language which may not be as thoroughly understood by you as it is by all the others.

I absolutely have no “scientific proof” to build my case here:
Supposedly 1 out every 5 persons is able to understand English, or that I was led to believe once. In practice it might even be a larger number, say 1 out every 10 who really do and perhaps 1 out of 20 who are able to respond in an intelligible fashion. <- I do not wish to sound too negative or too pessimistic here, I only wish to look at it all from a realistic perspective. I.e. without a doubt not fully grasping a foreign language, will lead to confusion(s), misgiving(s) and misunderstanding(s) on either side. All three are best to be avoided (at all cost(s)) imho. <- Hence this little rant of mine.

As for me: I might have been engulfed by American influences all my life through several media. Thus a firm grasp comes naturally as Eric Cantona would undoubtedly say. Capiche… 😉 Nothing could be further from the truth. As a result one becomes arrogant, which one _quickly_ unlearns when faced with native speakers on the Internet. 😉 Also it wasn't that long ago (7 or 8 years ago) I for example learned how to touch type. A feat which greatly enhances one's comprehension because all of a sudden you can actually look at the screen instead of having to search which key is where. 😉 <- A very time consuming and frustrating experience especially when speed is of the essence.

Thus in short: When in doubt just give a shout out (but without CAPS cruise-control for cool, please).

http://www.sense-lang.org/typing/

Well if I were to write my posts in Dutch (from now on), not only would my audience be limited to a measly 22 million native speakers. I also would be selling myself short for not providing myself the opportunity to improve my English. 😉

With that said, I bid You all adieu.

That’s all folks!

Kindest regards,

Alex

PS: My words are my own, my actions are my own. Everything I wrote and did in this post are my own responsibility. All I’m offering is: YAP! 😉

«Everything we do (in life) is meaningless, without the appropriate conviction

Before you comment!?

Back to top.

2 thoughts on ““Two nations divided by one common language.”

  1. Greetings from Florida! I’m bored to death at work so I decided to browse your blog on my iphone during lunch break. I enjoy the info you present here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home. I’m amazed at how quick your blog loaded on my phone .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyhow, wonderful blog!

    Like

Comments are closed.